Co-Writing Novels

Recently I contracted to co-author a fantasy novel, likely followed by two more. I’ve ghostwritten a lot of content for non-fiction books in the past, but this is my first full-length fictional novel. It’s been a very interesting process, this co-authoring thing. I’ve learned a lot, namely that I can do a credible first draft of 110k words in 30 days.

I have also learned that my philosophy in writing business collateral (“it never hurts to have a second set of eyeballs go over it”) is practically mandatory in writing full-length fiction. After hours of producing words in stream-of-thought mode, it becomes difficult to see the little details. Can’t see the trees for the forest, so to speak. I’m glad we secured an excellent editor to backstop my work, smooth the language, etc. That’s something I do quite well for other people’s work as a freelance editor, but I can say with confidence that an outside editor is vital when I write lengthy fiction.

I’m pretty sure that once I’m done with this book (or with the trilogy, if it goes that route), I’ll be writing novels under my own byline in the future. At least, I will do so during downtime when I’m not busy writing or editing for my business clients.

Leave a Reply

